Starting Fresh & 2016

by Bonchamps

I think it’s time I blogged again.

I’ve been working a full-time and part-time job for a while now, and as it turns out, I make better use of the time I have when I have less of it than I ever did when I had it in abundance.

My goal with this blog is to keep it short and sweet: a headline of the day and some commentary at 400 words or less.

What I may as well say now: I’m supporting Rand Paul for President in 2016. I’m aware of all of his problems. He’s still the best option, and really the only option, out of the entire lot. He has the most respect for the original intent of America’s founders/framers and he is the least likely to take us into WW III. He will make the best Supreme Court choices as well.

In the end, someone has to win. Unless one can plausibly foresee a scenario in which the electoral system as we know it will cease to exist in the near future, one must accept that someone will be president. One must also accept that, no matter how small the differences, one choice will ultimately be the best choice. You have nothing to lose by voting.

A Rand Paul victory would signal that America is ready to move in a more libertarian direction: less involvement in the affairs of other nations, less political centralization and social engineering, and if we’re very lucky a freer economy and an originalist view of the Constitution. The breaks will be put on the far-left “social justice” movement, which defines itself as “progressive” but is in fact returning to some of humanity’s oldest and basest behaviors: tyranny and collectivism.

I may be wrong, but I do believe the majority of Americans are sick to death of identity politics. Obsession with identity is unhealthy; one’s principles are far more important. I believe a Rand Paul victory will give a voice to certain groups which have been marginalized: non-white and/or female conservatives (and libertarians), people who belong to groups for whom the left claims to speak, but whose very existence and individuality are denied when they speak out.

I am one such person. Principles over identity – that’s my campaign slogan.

